Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Greg Sandow's Symphony

Some of you probably read the recent series Making musical sense by email, which was a conversation between Greg Sandow and me as we worked to make more sense of the future of classical music. If you didn't know Greg Sandow before, you might wonder what a contemporary "classical" composer writes. You might be afraid that it's harsh, esoteric, dissonant music, and you might think it's, well, unenjoyable.

Well, I can't tell you what you'll find enjoyable, but I can offer you the chance to hear his new symphony for free. As he notes, "A symphony has come to mean a major, deeply serious piece, and this one isn't all that serious. It's a symphony in the 18th century meaning of the word, which means that it's meant as entertainment." It's only 13 minutes long in 4 movements; if you're pressed for time, you can listen to one movement now, another later tonight, and so forth.

And I do hope you enjoy it! I am.



Post a Comment

<< Home